The NHL Awards started out with host Jay Mohr’s NHL awards “24/6” spoofing the HBO Pens Caps 24/7, continued on through some bad musical acts, and ended up giving out some good awards and making me really excited for next season to begin.

Here’s some award highlights:

Norris Trophy

The Norris trophy for top defenseman went to Nicklas Lidstrom of the Red Wings. It was Detroit’s only award of the evening, but Lidstrom’s 7th time in 19 seasons taking it home.

Art Ross

The Canuck’s Daniel Sedin took home the Art Ross, regular season scoring leader. Twin bro Henrich won the trophy last year, and the jokes about these two went on all night. Jay Mohr painted a wonderful image of the twins passing their Art Ross trophies back and forth in their bunk beds. It actually was a pretty comical show.

Fact: The Penguins have more scoring title than any other NHL team since the ’80s.

Selke Trophy

The Selke went to Vancouver’s Ryan Kesler, the Cup finalists taking home a total of four trophies throughout the night. This award has gone to Datsyuk for the past three seasons, but with the season and post-season that Kesler displayed, the star deserved that outstanding defensive forward award.

Jack Adams

The Jack Adams coach of the year award went to Pittsburgh’s own Dan Bylsma for an awesome coaching job, producing one of the best records in club history despite losing Crosby and Malkin halfway though the season. Though I didn’t spot any Penguins in the audience of the awards, Bylsma’s son- famous for suggesting shootout lineups in 24/7, and wife were there.

Caulder Memorial

Top Rookie went to Carolina’s Jeff Skinner, the youngest player to participate in an all star game since Steve Yzerman, who’s name was mispronounced a few times during the night.

Vezina Trophy

The Vezina went to Tim Thomas on a season well done. His outstanding goal tending led the Bruins to their first Cup title since 1972, and the Bruins got some mentions and honors throughout the night. Zdeno Chara also won the Mark Messier leadership award.

Hart Trophy

The Hart Trophy and the Rocket Richard for most regular season goals both went to the Duck’s Corey Perry.

and some awards of my own:

Best Introduction

Host Mohr was introducing the next presenter and said if you’ve ever watched a TV show or movie, ever, in your life this guy probably produced it, “Please welcome Jerry Bruckheimer.”

Best Thank-you speech

Hockey players, though full of aggression on the ice, seem to be exceptionally timid when accepting awards. Its almost like an anti-award show, and that is probably why it is fun to watch. But this one goes to Jeff Skinner who upon accepting the Caulder Memorial thanked everyone he could think of- including Gary Roberts.

Craziest Hair

This one is hands down Stephen Stamkos, who was sporting some crazy blonde hair which luckily is hidden in a helmet on the cover of NHL 2012. An honorable mention goes to Ryan Kesler, but he is allowed to wear his hair how ever he wants if he keeps playing like he has been.

General best moment

Ryan v. Ryan part deux,